an old cynic's view

By superhero

The Goalie and John

We were at a charity dinner in the lodge last night,and the auction items were on display.
This fully authenticated signed Lionel Messi top stood out.
I saw Big John's eyes light up as if to say I'm havin that.
Then Martin said there was already a reserve bid on it and he thought ach well that's that.
When it came to the auction and the reserve was given as £100 the big fella started to fidget.
It quickly went up in £50 bids to £350 ,and John bid £500
One guy kept going till it got to £700.
By that time I had had enough and shouted "Martin for Gods sake he is my son in law give him it "
But that was it ,once the lodge get it properly framed,it is bound for wee Johnny's bedroom wall.
As I tried this morning to pacify Di , I don't think it helped when I said " ach it's only the cost of a handbag to you"
No seriously Di is fine about it, but I want to be there when the wee man first sees it.
Campbell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.