SEA BLISS

I must down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel's kick and the wind's song and the white sail's shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea's face, and a grey dawn breaking.

John Masefield, Sea Fever


I had plenty of opportunity to dream on the birding boat this morning. The birds had forgotten to mark the event on their calendar. Eventually we saw a Manx Shearwater and some Harbour Porpoise but it was getting a little desperate when shouts of "Guillemot on the water" went up. On the way back in we grounded on the sandbank. "In 20 years I've never known that happen" I heard from the man next to me. We went back out and circled a bit then had another go and got in.

I love being on the sea, the wind and salt on my face, the blinding silver sheet of sun on the water. Even if the birds didn't turn up.

Afterwards we went to Bempton Cliffs for a walk and came across a man fishing for cod on top of the 330 foot cliffs. He had a very long line. He had just caught a Wrasse and measured it. I'm glad it was big enough to keep/eat as I can't imagine it would have survived the drop had it been thrown back to sea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.