A surreptitious portrait

I didn't set out to be sneaky today but I was trying to find suitable subjects to test out a new lens I have just bought for my Olympus CSC.

Having read all the reviews for the two candidate lenses, I opted for the Panasonic 100-300mm (so 200-600 mm, 35mm equivalent) and took delivery today.

Wandering around the grounds of Knaresborough Castle, shooting all sorts of rather boring test shots, I came across this young lady who was happily posing for a young man; he was toting Nikon equipment more than twice the weight and cost of my toy. So I just took advantage of the long end of the lens and took this portrait, from a considerable distance. Straight out of the camera except for a crop too.

I'm more than happy with the results of the test shots, all with the camera on a monopod - the whole set up should prove a worthy substitute for my Canon with its hefty 100-400mm, particularly when I'm travelling or don't want backache.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.