missjatravers

By missjatravers

Playing with scale ....

... is what I felt like someone was doing all the time I was at the ranch in Colorado.

Imagine this , the san luis valley in colorado, just north of Alamosa.
The ranch is 100,000 acres , it looks lost in the valley .
the valley is 8,000 ft above sea level, and rather flat.
grazing horses look like pin pricks in the distance.

half of the ranch is the home of 2,500 roaming wild bison. You could ride around there and not see them, despite the flatness ..
in the corner of the valley there is the SAND DUNES NATIONAL PARK . - from the ranch house they look small but they are 800ft high and formed from 2 million years of wind blowing across the valley with nothing to stop it .

It really was all pretty amazing to see !

But as I felt as though nature was playing with my sense of proportion I though I would play around with it in my photo....

So .... this is taken by me on the top of a rather high sand dune, lying on my tummy, looking at an 800ft sand dune with a man standing on that looking at a 1400ft mountain with snow on the top.

Surreal was not the word for it !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.