Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Disk recovery

Ever lost your images?

Tried looking for them on your disk?

Could they be simply stuck on the platter?

Well obviously not, but great fun in creating the story.
Two images each comprising a 40 image stack using Helicon Remote and Helicon focus then merged on PS.
The first was a straight shot of the disk and the second with my iPad (image locked and upside down!) behind using Air Display to show a folder off my Mac. The latter was a bit blue due to the white balance I had used for the tungsten (inspection) light I was using. That had to be colour corrected. The two images loaded as layers, a layer mask on the image with the photos to show just those on the disk platter in the final image. The last steps were to apply a curves just to brighten the white background and them finally a horizontal flip of the image to get the text the right way around.

Not perfect in areas, but on this horrible wet afternoon, a couple of hours fun.

View Large for the detail. You can nearly see the 1's and 0's!

It's then I notices the little blobs on the carrier. I presume they are to balance the disk in much the same way weights are used to balance the wheels on cars. Revolving at nearly 100 times a second I can image any imbalance causes mayhem!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.