wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

On the road

Another travelling day, as I moved from Bellingham to Leavenworth. Kat and I spent the morning packing up, playing with the pets, finding lunch, and then sitting around at the Greyhound station. She left, I waited. And waited. And waited. And listened to the old couple behind me having a very cute conversation about bacon sandwiches. He then said 'You're still a good lady, you're still my girl.', and I nearly nawwwwed outloud. I then got chatting to them, and they were a classic old couple full of gumption and stories. Both 93 (looking about 80), they've been married for 40 years. He was a test pilot for 35 years, clocking up over 450000 miles, she was a cosmetics saleswoman/trainer and travelled all over the country. Both were a little deaf, so I spent a lot of time shouting at them, but it was worth it.

The bus trip was fairly uneventful. I changed at Everett and had an amusing conversation with a group of middle aged travellers. One stated blankly at me 'you're not married' after all three had been grilling me on Tasmania for a good five minutes. Awkward statements out of no where. So hard to give a sensible response. Once I got on the bus I must have fallen asleep, the lady with the loud child in front of me disappeared at some point, but then I woke up in time to see the spectacular views of Stevens Pass. I was entranced. Couldn't take my eyes away.

I arrived in Leavenworth and found Nellie waiting for me. We went for some dinner and then to the pub with some of her friends. It was a good night, although I was exhausted by the time we left at midnight. I hit the pillow once we reached her parents' house, and was gone until the morning. But the view that greeted my eyes the next morning well and truly woke me up...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.