Recalls

3 out of 4 ain't bad!

Working on Ozzy's recall at the moment. It's not too bad.... But certainly not good enough! So got the whistle out now and training with that. Anything with "spaniel" in it really needs to be a solid recall! (especially if he wants to come out running with me when he's old enough!!)

Went back to Balvaird castle today, on Ruaraidhs request. He wanted pictures taken for school, dressed up as dracula! I couldn't believe that 5 minutes away from the house I realised I'd forgotten my camera and had already done an about turn for Jamies jacket so wasn't turning again!

Anyway.... Got some with the camera phone. (my blip isn't one of them.... That was from the morning walk at the meadow.)

ANYWAY.... When we were at the Castle I had Ozz off and on the lead practicing recall.... All was fine, he was staying close and coming back well and then he started running round us at that crazy high speed that dogs do! My attention was diverted for a minute... Looked up... And he was gone!! Blew the whistle (which we've only just started the training with!)... Nothing!.... Again again.... Nothing.... Panic... Didn't have a clue which way he'd headed but the Castle is on a hillock so started running round one side blowing the whistle.... Nothing.... Heart pounding..... Ran to the other side of the Castle...... And who popped up over the stone dyke..... What a relief!
It was only a few minutes... But felt like forever!
Where we were was safe but if he'd kept running or hurt himself......
So I guess the recall did work.... But not knowing where he was and not being 100% confident of his recall it was a hairy few minutes!
With the spaniel in him I know that he's going to run off following scents frequently, which is fine if the recall is good.....!
The training continues!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.