stujphoto

By stujphoto

Anniversary Water Droplet

Oh well that's it then !

A year of blipping. What have I learnt then ? I suppose above all I have tried out a load of new techniques and subject matter. I don't think I have ever taken so many flowers and certainly not done so many still lifes. I have always been going to photograph birds but somehow I never quite got round to it before. It started with garden birds at the feeder and has gradually moved on to birds in flight. I am still at the very early stage of tackling garden bugs, mainly bees and butterflies so far, but I have been really inspired by the excellent bug macro photography that there is on blipfoto. I have very much enjoyed pushing my macro skills to the limit, especially with frost patterns. I am sure I would never have got round to trying out water droplet photography without the pressure to produce a blip a day. My monochrome photography has blossomed thanks to Silver Efex Pro.

In terms of approach I have learnt two main things. Even on the dullest of days there will be an image somewhere which will gladden your heart if only you pursue it. I have gradually learned to trust that the chances are, you will eventually be inspired even if you leave the house without an idea in your head. However, we should not just taking photographs, we should making them, a bit of forethought and preparation can go a long way to improving one's images.

However, these lessons do not come easily and the support, advice, inspiration and just the overall knowledge base that blipfoto provides are the fundamental glue which keeps the blip community functionning. Thanks for all your feedback and support especially to those of you who regular commment on my images.

So is that it ? Of course, not. I have been too badly bitten to let go now, though I may try and and cut back a bit on the time I spend on blip if only to bring back some balance into my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.