Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

don't mention the......

I was intrigued by this - I wonder what it will entail - any ideas?

This morning a siren has been sounding out over Huddersfield. David and I stood looking at each other as the plaintiff wailing went on and on - something very chilling about a siren, it gets you in the pit of your stomach. I was just mentally calculating how quickly I could get to Sarah's school, and how many candles & tins of beans we have in stock, when I realised it must be the Syngenta chemical plant - although it's about 3 miles away there is a direct line of sight down the valley from this house. My friend Google confirmed they are testing new sirens this morning - in fact they are still going off 2 hours later. Phew!

And it got me to thinking about my Mum, whose house was destroyed in the blitz of Plymouth (uh oh, not supposed to mention the war.....), and I'm very thankful I have never heard a siren used in anger.

Happy Tuesday, hope it's not as grey and dismal where you are as it is in this little corner of West Yorkshire.

Screaming sirens made me think of this. Love how Paul Weller is not afraid of fitting twice as many syllables into a phrase as any other songwriter would.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.