Stella

I was disappointed when I woke this morning to find the weather was grey and dismal as I had a busy diary which needed good light. I had arranged to start my portrait project at 10-30 am and had hoped to take my subjects outside. But by the time I'd had soothing hot bath, some breakfast and strong coffee, the weather started to clear and when I left the house the sun was shining.

Alan was my first subject and I needed to film him as he was going away on business to the USA tomorrow. I hadn't met him before although our paths had crossed when he contacted me for some Mac advice a few years ago, though I couldn't provide much assistance. He lives in 17th century cottage in the old part of town which has always intrigued me, so I had a bit of a history lesson too.

The portrait project is to provide pictures of the interviewees and key figures in a book that my friend Camilla, is producing whose working title is 'Stroud – a town influenced by activism'. It is a collection of interviews with the people who since the 1970s have become organised to achieve their objectives in the community. Stroud Preservation Trust was one of the first of these organisations being formed to implement an alternative to the massive destruction of Stroud's town centre allowed by the prevailing local political climate and the consequent impact of developers plans to make money.

Hopefully the book will be on sale before Christmas and it is being published by the Preservation Trust having got a grant through the lottery funding. I was interviewed although my tiny efforts have all been very recent. But I have discovered so much about how individuals have had so much lasting impact on the local society and its environment. I think it will be a very good guide and inspiration for others and the many younger people who are going to have to do so much more for themselves in the future to build wholesome communities.

After leaving Alan, I visited my friend Harry, another trustee of the Preservation Trust, who in fact brought me into that organisation. We have known each other distantly for about thirty years now, from long before I came to Stroud. He is a wonderful carpenter with his own joinery business in Piccadilly Mill, which was built in mid-Victorian times just beside Alan's cottage on the old road.

Then it was on to meet Stella, who was pivotal in the early days of the Stroud Valleys Project, which has centred on the preservation of the local environment and the saving of many native habitats locally. We hadn't met before but of course we found friends and issues in common. She lives in a wonderful 16th century mansion close to the centre of town, which has been converted into a few flats. She served me coffee, while I took a few biographical notes and pondered on the recent threats to the local landscape, particularly the Slad valley, where another large housing estate is awaiting planning permission. From her windows I really enjoyed the view out across the valley to Butterow, which she sees from a different angle to our view of it. It is fascinating to see how the one's views of the valleys change as one moves around its many curving slopes.

Then I went on to Lansdown Hall to photograph Sue, who has been involved with its vital story for several decades now. As I have mentioned the town council is now its owner and we are in the process of raising even more funds for its rebuilding and improvements. Sue also asked me if I could take some more photos of the building for them to use for their publicity, the website and the general client information needs, so I have yet another reason to pick up my camera.

I have come home to start sorting through the images and to organise the filming of all the other people. Stella has said that I can use one of my pictures of her for today's blip, so thank you very much Stella! As she told me earlier, she is a Stroudie through and through, born and bred here, and still caring about it as much as ever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.