Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bug

Rain, rain, rain. I know, I should expect that in October, but still. It's a bit depressing. Still, the day was livened up in many ways: a bit of light shopping for presents, fixing the internet phone (dodgy rattly connector, replaced for free in the shop in town) so I could call my Mam and Mr B. Long chat with my neighbours tonight sorting out my CV - they were very generous with their time and not at all mocking of my attempts at writing, which was kind. And TallGirl had her cross-country inter-schools competition today and was second in the girls' race! So, a silver medal and a prize (and now she thinks she might stop basketball and do athletics instead. Which is great becauase that's what I used to do, but makes it a bit annoying that I just paid for her basketball licence last week....) And CarbBoy was furious with himself for 'only' getting 18 out of 20 on his maths test. How to convince a child that 18 out of 20 is really rather good is the kind of parenting problem I like.

And this afternoon I spent a lot of time watching this bug on the windowsill while I sipped a cup of tea. Rather excitingly another bug fell onto the windowsill upside down and spent quite a time trying to right himself before finally pushing himself off the windowsill onto the plants below. Neither I nor this bug did anything other than watch. It's been that kind of a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.