Robin La Roca's journal

By robinlaroca

South Africa House today

SA House has of course, in the past, been a centre for many political expressions. Be it protests in the 70s and the 80s, but then a centre for an expression of freedom in the 90s and the 00s. My favourite memory is, having seen Mr Mandela give his "Make Poverty History" speech in Trafalgar Square in 2004, I and others ran around to the side door to see him step out of his car and smile, laugh and shake hands with everyone he could see, before walking sedately into the side door. That must have been a good feeling for him, I hope. And I think he would be the one to spot the important word there.... hope.

Today we know that Mr Mandela is very ill. The world waits for news. So today it seemed to me that this pigeon was waiting.... waiting on a South African elephant, if you please.... waiting for the news.

So it turns out, this is my homage to the chap that Bono calls "The President of the World".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.