To buy or not to buy...

To the pictures with Parky after work, for Sunshine on Leith. Not my cup of tea. I think maybe I just don't get films where everyone's in love and happy; like the song (kind of) says, "They say nothing to me about my life." Which brings me to the subject of my blip.

I was a huge fan of the Smiths, and still am. When I was 17 I ran away from a school trip to Edinburgh and Glasgow and went to see them play in Carlisle, sleeping in the railway station and getting the first train back so that the teachers accompanying the trip didn't notice I'd gone (it was a pretty relaxed trip, I should point out!). After the band split (which broke my heart) I stuck with Morrissey for a good few years, but gradually the music he was making meant less and less to me, and his idiotic public statements on everything from China to the Breivik massacre in Norway completely infuriated me. So today his long-awaited autobiography came out, and I can't decide whether to buy it or not. I think another song will probably make my decision for me:

"But don't forget the songs that made you cry,
And the songs that saved your life.
Yes, you are older now
And you're a clever swine,
But they were the only ones who ever stood by you."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.