Omuraudrey

By Omuraudrey

Thank you

Before I get into the photo, let me tell you a little bit about Japanese high schools. First of all, unlike in the States, high school is not mandatory. But in order to go to high school you must pass the entrance exam for your desired school. Technical, commercial and agricultural high schools tend to be on the lower level academically, so the entrance exams are easier and the acceptance rate is much higher than academic high schools. Students in their third year of junior high start studying ridiculous amounts and attend "cram schools" for the duration of their last junior high year.

Highly academic high schools are known to have 7am classes, classes on Saturdays and tests on Sundays. I ran into some of my graduated students at Starbucks. They were studying for a test that they have tomorrow (Sunday!) I feel bad for them, I think it's ridiculous and they need to have some free time! Knowing that I can't change the Japanese school system overnight, I did the next best thing and bought them a piece of chocolate cake to share.

They happily gobbled it up and on their way out they came and thanked me again and gave me candies in return (with cute notes on them!)

*I recently read that Japanese high school students don't enter college with a superior level knowledge despite the countless more hours they spend studying. The system needs revising, but how to bring on an educational revolution...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.