Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas!

Actually, the song going through my head as I mowed the lawn at the cottage was "The Christmas Song", more commonly remembered as "Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire".

The neighbors have a chestnut tree that overhangs Annie's Cottage lawn, and the last couple of years, the spiny pods fall with very immature nuts inside, three to a pod, resembling filberts.

One year, I tried roasting a few, but that didn't work.
Micro-waving makes them explode!
So this year I chose a few nice ones for our cockatoo to play with and mowed over the rest (after photographing them, of course!)

Except I'm afraid the spines might injure our bird, so I'm vacillating as to whether to give her one or not.

Anyhow, they're fun to look at.

~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.