My Attempts

By Bernydoll

On my doorstep

Today I was thinking that I pass lots of interesting things daily but pay little attention to them. I work in a large Glasgow Cemetery, it's actually three cemeteries which are now run by Glasgow City Council's parks department, St Kentigern's, Lambhill and Western Necropolis. This memorial is close to the gate at the Western Necropolis and was erected in memory of those who fell during the South African war.

The inscription reads;


THIS MEMORIAL
IS ERECTED AS A
SACRED TRIBUTE TO AND
IN HUMBLE RESPECT FOR THOSE WHO
FELL IN THE SOUTH AFRICAN WAR
1899 - 1902
AND ALSO FOR THE SOLDIERS
HERE INTERRED

The memorial is a beautiful piece of work and today I liked the way it is contrasting with the orange of the leaves on what I think is an acer, feel free to correct.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.