Journey forward

By Popsicle

Zygocactus

This specific plant is over 30 years old, and we still get blooms on it every year.

My better half has reminded me that I received it from my employers at the time when I smashed up my ankle in 1982, and ended up with an ankle rebuilt with plates and screws, and in plaster for 6 weeks.

I can still vividly recall the break. Was fishing on the banks of the Ebenezer dam in Magoebaskloof with my wife and a friend, when my foot slipped and twisted on fallen pine needles. The sound of the break was like a gunshot, and I looked down and saw my foot at 90° angle from where it should have been.
Has since never given me any hassles, although after all these years am now developing post-traumatic arthritis in the joint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.