Bimjim4

By Bimjim4

Rescue

This young Greenfinch flew against a plate glass door, and Fiona spotted it lying unconscious on the patio (the Greenfinch that is - not Fiona!)
Here it is, very dazed, cradled in my hand.
I must say that based on my previous experience of dealing with with small birds injured in this way, I was not very optimistic about its chances of survival. They are so fragile and delicate.
However I popped this one into a covered basket in the garage and left him in a quiet, dark place for half an hour. I expected to find it dead when I returned, but to my surprise, it had recovered consciousness and was fluttering to be let out.
The story ends happily. I took him into the garden, and, without a second's hesitation, he flew off strongly up and away over the cow pasture next door.
Let's hope he returns to the bird feeder again to build up his strength.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.