Beckett

By Beckett

THE OLD and the NEW.......

.... As mentioned we caught to extremely effective train from Ballarat at 8:30am this morning and headed down to check out the big smoke of Melbourne the capital city in Victoria Australia. After a smooth and enjoyable ride arrived and set about our days activities.... Nothing particular, as we have been here before, so it was an "update" visit of kinds. Melbourne is a very interesting city of approximately 4 million people. The city is a real mix of old and new as I have shown in my pic here. The Yarra river runs through the centre of Melbourne, and there is a system of trams through and around it so access from point to point is excellent. The other thing Melbourne is well recognised for is the upcoming horse race, the Melbourne Cup, which pretty much stops the country while it is being run. The city is also recognised as the largest "Italian" city outside of Italy!! In the 1950's "roughly", many Italian and Greece immigrants came to Australia and seemed to make Melbourne their base. This also means as you look for a meal or coffee there are "stacks" of all shapes and size of eateries, mostly based on the Italian and Greece cultures. I took a few "street" shots which I will post when we get back, unless I can work out how to get it happening on this iPad??!! All in all, a busy and very enjoyable day. Enjoy, and click L to have a look in large. .... My apologies for lack of comments, but I have been enjoying your Blips even if I have not commented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.