Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A rural scene in Kwa-Zulu Natal

We are back in Durban now, and back to having wifi again albeit a very slow link. The fact that it is about to storm does not help and my computer keeps flickering. Last night we had a spectacular storm in the mountains, crashing thunder, lightning and lashing rain as only Africa can deliver. I had forgotten how dramatic these storms can be.

This is a view of one of the local settlements that we passed, with a row of rondavels (thatched round huts) in the foreground and the coloured foothills of the mountains behind. As they have just come out of winter and have not had all the summer rains yet there is not too much greenery around and the cattle are looking sadly skinny with their hip bones poking through.

On the journey back to Durban, we stopped to refuel and I noticed some weaver birds in their nests in a tree at the garage. I got out the car to take some photos of them and a couple of men dressed for their church meeting noticed my camera and asked me if I would take their photo. I said yes and within seconds this group of people had assembled and arranged themselves with no direction from me! They are such friendly people here and they love having their photos taken.

We had a relaxing afternoon with family and now the boys are watching the Currie Cup Rugby Final in which my home town team The Sharks are playing against Western Province. This is the oldest domestic rugby tournament in the world, and in terms of support and viewing numbers, probably equivalent to the FA cup football final. Go Sharks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.