Pictures by Ahti's dad

By hevosmies

Deep in the forest pt 6 (or something)

I played disc golf at Peikkometsä course. The wind wasn't as bad as it's been almost every time while playing this autumn. Still my result sucked. Partly because I wanted to try the new discs I found on Friday. They would've required a bit more getting used to. Actually, on Friday, when I succeeded very well compared to my earlier (and today's) efforts, I used only two discs, one driver and one midrange. Maybe in future I should use fewer discs at time.

I still have very much to improve. Particularly with drives. When I drive with or almost full power the accuracy is poor. The disc often goes around 30 grades to different direction than I intended. Especially when throwing backhand. Maybe something wrong with my run-up. I took videoclips of some of my drives. Have to check them later. Maybe they reveal something I'm doing wrong.

Though I felt quite depressed with the result when I was leaving home it wasn't all bad. I scored my first birdie (1 below par). I also seem to have improved my technique with tomahawk and thumbroller shots quite nicely. I managed them quite well in certain situations.

Another of the discs I found on Friday was so beaten up it behaved quite unpredictably. That's why it's previous owner must've used it when trying to cross the water obstacle. It's so worn out it's not a big deal if it disappears in water. The disc ended up in water twice. First time I used a long branch and just managed to pick it up. The second time a branch wasn't needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.