Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Phoenix Nights

Wow, its getting dark early now. I went into Leicester after work to go to the Phoenix Cinema, which is my local 'art house' cinema. It's a really great cinema and they show really good modern films (including foreign films such as the Millennium Trilogy) and classic films. Tonight I went to a screening of the 1973 British Classic The Wicker Man with Christopher Lee and Edward Woodward. I have seen this film before but not for quite a few years, and I'd forgotten just how weird the film is at times.

I remember watching the old Hammer Horror films when I was younger, and I really liked Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing. I remember seeing an interview with them in a documentary and they were asked what the scariest thing was on film and one of them replied an half open door, it leaves it up to your imagination as what is through the door, and your imagination will be far more scary than anything a director could show on screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.