My First Gate

Quite proud of this. And it nearly fits.

I took some instructions off a screwed up drug user a few months ago on how to build a fence with a gate in it. I say that but really I just photographed the back of the fence/gate he built me at another property and had a go myself.

I have made one mistake with it - made it a little too tight so the gate does bang when it closes and will need a bit of a shove. I know where I went wrong for next time.

Quite pleased with it and myself really. It's relatively straight, posts are nearly the right angle (upright), they are nearly the same length although that middle one could be shorter - but I'm digging through so many roots I did rather give up. However, with 50lbs of concrete for each post, I figure it's not going anywhere. I would trim the top of the posts but my sawzall decided that it wasn't working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.