FLASHY

That does not refer to my taste in clothing or appearance I can assure you. It is a term used to describe a mounatin stream -burn- which responds very quickly to rain fall. Our survey site onMull today demanded that I take some measurements on the opposite bank quite high up the hill side. The morning had been dry initially but the forecast heavy rain was already upon us. Without much difficulty I stepped over some greasy stones to get access to the other bank and continued on some horrible tussocky ground taking measurements. I was mindful of the effect the torrential rain was likely to have on the burn and I kept looking back to check my exit remained safe. The west bank visit was probably less than an hour in total. The driving rain had already nosed out the weak points in my jacket and trousers. Around my neck and chest was wet, up my sleeves was soaking and my legs were generally damp everywhere.
Time to leave. The burn was much higher but I got back to the east bank without the feet getting too wet. I had some corresponding east bank measurements to take and alarmingly in the space of about fifteen minutes the burn was utterly unpassable. It now tumbled northward to the sea in huge foamy steps. I had just made it.
The blip is the burn in the afternoon.
Thank you for everyones advice and comments on Windows 8 yesterday. It is quite notable that not one person expressed any level of satisfaction with it. With my new laptop I can at least use it for more than ten minutes away from a mains outlet but sub consciously I am still typing fast to beat the hibernate screen. That is my excuse for any spelling errors.

We are still on Mull tonight and I anticipate more of the same tomorrow. Lower down there is a forestry track bridge so there should be no need for any heroics crossing the burn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.