Morning in Greenwich

I'd never been to Greenwich so I set off, abusing my bus pass as usual, to travel on the number 188. I'd never been to Bermondsey or the Elephant and Castle either.

I started with Cutty Sark (from the outside and underneath).

It was drizzling and threatening rain but that really didn't matter. Greenwich Park was stunning with the colours changing and deepening with the advancing Autumn.

First of all I got lost in the University of Greenwich complex. It used to be the Royal Naval College. It was graduation day with all pomp and ceremony. Fascinating to wander through the grounds.

I made it to the National Maritime Museum and past The Queen's House, before I climbed up to The Royal Observatory. The Astronomy Photographer of the Year Exhibition 2013 was amazing, with detailed notes of the background to each of the winning photos.

And all of this for free.

Last night's opera was perfect for Halloween. Intense, scary, hard work, loadsa blood. Alban Berg's "Wozzeck". Brilliantly intense but not for the faint hearted. Simon Keenlyside and Karita Mattila were sublime.

Tonight it's Verdi - much more tuneful.

And I'm meeting a great friend for afternoon tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.