Edible world

By RawAppetite

Beet kvass - a home-made probiotic

You know from the colour of this, that it will do you good. Lacto-fermentation is a fascinating kind of kitchen alchemy.

I adore fresh beetroot juice: it's got that instant wow factor, like downing an expresso, and it is always a dilemna for me to give them up for fermentation instead. However, the cooler weather means I am looking to boost my immune system so I am upping my intake of various fermented foods to protect against colds and sniffles.

There are different recipes for making kvass: my preferred method just uses salt rather than the traditional stale bread & whey combo). The liquid gets thicker over time and ever so slightly slimely as it develops, but it is easy and interesting and pretty. I sometimes use it as a soup stock. This will take about 4-5 days to mature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.