It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

VIP's n me

After all the rain, it was nice to have one sunny morning. Heading out, there was a great cloud inversion in the valley. Arriving at work I had a spring in my step. There's been a 'bug' in my head for a few weeks. But one can't control the behaviour of others through anger or frustration. It just leads to more anger and frustration. Better to sing 'three little birds' and everything will be alright.

In the afternoon, the boss asked me and Michael if we were free in the evening but only I was. It meant that I was off the the Track World Cup for a VIP dinner. I wasn't actually in the mood but I'm a yes rather than a no person. A rapid cycle home, a quick shave, s**t and shower! a shirt ironed and I was soon heading back to the velodrome.

Security at the VIP entrance were even in suits. We hung about waiting for our guests. A confident lady strode past saying 'good evening', with the boss and I convinced that we knew her. 10 mins later it dawned on me that it was Jill Douglas from the BBC. I was introduced to our guests, while trying my best to remember everyone's names and who they worked for. There was free beer and champagne but I only drink when it's a special beer or whatever now.

Not many people realise it, but I'm quite shy in new company and often find small talk a challenge. But there's no such thing as a free dinner and I did my best to come up with interesting cycling facts and anecdotes. I got enthused by how everyone seemed so excited about being in the velodrome. On my 2nd day working there I cycled in and whilst showering, my old hero Chris Boardman walked in and I had a pleasant chat with him in the buff. Surreal, but after a while it all seems normal. That is until you see the responses of others visiting the place for the first time.

There were quite a few recognisable faces about but I was fascinated watching Sir Dave B. He's just so good at schmoozing and seeming interested in what others have to say, even though it must be tedious being a Demi-god sometimes. During the women's team pursuit, I was more interested in watching girl's coach, Chris Newton. He seemed relaxed and as they passed the 2000m mark, he smiled. Wow...team smashed the world record and the masses went wild. Dani King's smile said it all.

The highlight of the night though was Katie Archibald's Silver in the scratch race. Much as I wouldn't classify myself as a nationalist, I'll always be a Scot. That was apparent when I roared "get in Katie" in my most Scottish roar. She looked round to see who was shouting, wobbled but managed to maintain forward motion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.