Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Cairo Crane

Just as I was about to go to bed last night and publishing my blip, I commented that the massive cement mixer had just arrived and getting set up for some very noisy work that can't be done during the day as the road needs to be closed to allow it to happen. It lasted for 3 hours into the early hours of the morning. Well, tonight I give you the crane! Almost as noisy, but with the added attraction of lights! My bedroom was floodlit at 11.15pm! Luckily I can close the curtains on the lights and tomorrow's a public holiday here, so if I can't sleep for a while, it's not so bad. And it provided me with my blip as I was about to go on a late night blip prowl round the flat!

We had a really full on day today and we only stopped for 15 mins at lunchtime to stuff a sandwich down! We never stopped from 8.30 till 6.30. We had 1-1 tutorials in there somewhere, assisted lesson planning, observation of 3x40 mins lesson and feedback, double marking of assignments, and gave back the 1st written assignment at the end of the day. Phew!

Tomorrow's a public holiday and I'm not sure if it's because of Morsi's trial starting tomorrow or because it's the Islamic new year on Tuesday. Not even the Egyptians seem to know for sure. We have another assignment to mark tomorrow and all the trainees will be working on assignment 3 and their next lesson plans. Rule of thumb is that it's usually 4-5 hours to prepare for a 40 min lesson on the course.....so no picnic!

Bb's now safely back in Bcn and so that feels better as there's only a one hour time difference.

News flash: double whammy now. The loud thump of the cement mixer/flattener has just started again. Glad it's not an early rise tomorrow.

Let's hope there aren't too many problems stemming from Morsi's trial. We've got a plan B in case the BC decides to close on Tuesday too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.