Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Alzheimers

Not my normal editing but as I have no permission to photograph P. I have purposely chosen an image which makes her unidentifiable.

P. is entering the advanced stages of alzheimer's. I took her for a walk over the heath today. There was a real chill to the air but it's good for her to get out and about and who knows what the weather will do next. I chatted to her along the way and tried to obtain some interaction but, sadly, half way through a sentence she has forgotten both what I said and what she was trying to say. This once social, bright and intelligent lady now points to her foot and asks what it is. Each pace that she takes cancels the previous one permanently from her memory. Her life, like this photo, is a blur. She has little if any recollection of the past, no conception of the future or indeed of events that occurred even seconds earlier.

P. is living, well cared for, in her own home but sadly, the disease progresses and this won't be possible for much longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.