Northern Exposure

By Northern

A duck, her eggs and pathogenic bacteria.

This is Trout, so called because she has what in Indian Runner Duck circles is known as trout colouring (speckled cream and brown) not a very original name but it suits her. She has finally decided to sit on her eggs. But, she may not be lucky as the Hoodies and the Ravens know she is there and have already stolen 3 of her 7 eggs. We have our fingers crossed as she is looking after her eggs as well as she can. However I dont think she will stand up to the ravens, they are pretty intimidating.

The 2 eggs we have left in the incubator are due to hatch next week. All very exciting.

Today I did a 'Basic Food Hygiene' course. Now that was scary. Too many horror stories and nasty science facts. Lunch was included, we all clung to the fact that our teacher was also in charge of the kitchen and we were fairly safe. Be warned if you ever do a course like this... you may never eat again.

I not only passed the test but got 100%. I am quite pleased with myself as it is the first exam I have sat in over 20 years. And I have really horrible stories to impress the boys and their pals with. Not a bad way to spend a Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.