Grey and grainy

I was feeling fairly chipper this morning when I dropped my car at the garage for a service and MOT. Downhill from then on and it's not even half way through the day.
Just as I was happily camera clicking away in the local churchyard I had a call from the garage to tell me that the car had failed the MOT; I kind of knew there would be something, what I hadn't anticipated was that I may well be missing an arm and a leg before the day is out.... ouch, it is going to be costly.

The car news has paled into insignificance now, as I have just had a call from a very tearful Ed, to inform me that an old friend and work colleague of ours passed away in the early hours of this morning. We knew he was on his last legs after a long battle with cancer and I'm pleased that Ed had got to see him a few weeks ago. I liked him, he was jolly and charming and had very twinkly blue eyes. I will hold on to that image of him.
As if that is not tragic enough for his family, his 44 year old son has just been diagnosed with cancer and is currently undergoing an intensive course of chemotherapy but his chances of beating it are good. I can't begin to imagine how desperate they must all be feeling.

I'm terrified of the phone ringing now in case there is any more bad news. I think I'll keep myself busy with housework accompanied by very loud, cheering music.

I'm sorry about the gloomy, depressing write up. Be happy my Blip pals. I will try hard to blip something a little more uplifting tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.