The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Driven around the bend and driving to Suffolk ..

Mum was driving me absolutely bonkers this morning. Her friend Vera died a couple of days ago. Her son rang to tell us, and I went into mum and turned off the TV and broke it to her as gently as I could.

Her only reaction was - 'Oh - that's a surprise' ..

Her friend was 92 and had a weak heart and a crumbling spine, so whatever it was, it wasn't a surprise. I'm very sad about it as she was a lovely person and would ring mum every week for a chat ..

Anyway mum found the notice in the paper and just wouldn't believe me that the funeral is next Friday and wasn't this afternoon. She wanted me to sort out clothes, to ask the neighbour to take her (I'd already said I would take her and I want to go anyway), and every time I told her it's next week she'd remember for all of 10 minutes, then go through it all again - waaaaah!

All this while I was trying to pack a bag and instruments for a musical weekend in Suffolk.

Eventually I got away (my sister is staying while I'm gone) and went to a nature reserve en route, where I saw nothing much .. which of course is why I blip a breakfast time fox!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.