Sunrise on remembrance day

In 1982 I wasn't in a great place in life when I wandered into the Army recruitment office in Pontypridd, a friend had joined the year before as a junior leader and seemed to be enjoying it.
I completed a few tests, a medical and a week away and I was in. I travelled to exciting places like Minley and Chatham :-) I loved it, they had, hot food, and hot water. There were some tough and sad times, but they made the boy into a man, gave him a sense of worth, life long friends, I even got to travel to interesting places in interesting times.
Today for me isn't just about remembrance and thanks for those who laid down their lives for queen and country, not just for friends who have died, but its thanks for giving me the life I have today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.