Light & sight

By CameronDP

Day 2

Lumb Bank is set on the edge of a steep, wooded Pennine valley and today I saw it in daylight!
At this morning's workshop, further probing questions were posed about our writing (who, for example, is my imaginary reader? Not an easy question to answer). The two tutors, both published novelists, also spent some time talking about their own experiences and passing on some useful tips and insights (which of the seven archetypal plots does my main idea fall into, I had to ask myself? The 'voyage and return', as it happens).
Some of the attendees (all unpublished writers) are already thousands of words down the path and in some cases even on to their second or third unpublished novels. Others, meanwhile, just seem to have a vague feeling that they might quite like to write something at some point in the future, but don't actually have any ideas. And the rest, including myself, are somewhere in the middle.
The food is hearty, the weather chilly, and the conversation as freely-flowing as the wine. And yes, I wrote this afternoon....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.