Mumzi

By Mumzi

Prince Albert....

Oh the agony of choosing a blip today, I've spent hours, not because the photographs are particularly good , but because each one meant so much to me. It's because I grew up in a British colony.. And we were PROUD to belong to Britain! I spent my afternoon in Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. It is so glorious there with those magnificent trees in their autumnal finery. And then I explored the Albert Memorial, opened in 1872 by Queen Victoria, in memory of her beloved husband Prince Albert, who had died of typhoid in 1861. I called my first teddybear Albert( WHY? My mother would often ask? ) I have no idea .. I liked that name. When I arrived the sun was setting( at 4pm!) and here he sits upon his throne looking north over The Royal Albert Hall.... And underneath is an emblem that I grew up with.. The lion and the unicorn representing the great British Empire! What a day. And it was FREEZING !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.