Doing the sums

I'm quite chuffed by my application of the rule of inverse proportion tonight as I wanted to do a shot of the two bridges lit up by the artificial lighting and also by the moon that was shining quite brightly this evening. At the aperture I wanted to make the star burst effect in the lights happen, the internal light meter couldn't tell me that the image was correctly exposed. I took a reading with the aperture wide open which did register and then did the sums to work out how long the exposure should be at the aperture I needed and hey presto, you get this!

If none of this makes sense I am just constructing a workshop on night photography that will start to explain this in plain speak. Keep an eye out in the next few days for an announcement of the new tuition things I'll be doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.