Things that make me smile

By sarahhallett

A Lesson in Punctuation

Yesterday I was out and about when I caught the sunset, this evening I was sewing in our loft room. I am loving these cold, sunny days, with the fabulous sunsets that they bring!

This evening Amy was helping out at a Literacy Evening held at school. I attended this event and was impressed with how they had structured it... brief overview of how literacy is taught, followed by lots if games/exercises to help the children learn.

We parents were encouraged to have a go at the games and exercises. It became apparent that my punctuation knowledge (well placement of semi colons anyway) was not as good as I had thought. Also I had no idea until this evening what compound sentence was. Well in the late 70's, early 80's I don't think we were taught anything about correct grammar. That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.