Party Done!

So the night came and went, after a shift which lasted from 7.30am to 1.00am, and involved quite a bit of champagne through the evening, I survived! I did nod off at my desk today and have been asleep quite a bit since coming home but this really busy week is done.

I was trying to choose a photo which summed up the evening and rather than going for a more corporate one I have gone for this one of Harriet from The Zoots who made the evening for me. With over a 150 scientists there I was concerned that they wouldn't get up and dance but with the help of a free bar, the band and the dj, Nick, at least a third of the party was up and dancing as soon as they hit the stage.

They were such great people as well, lovely and polite, thanking me for everything, would love to have them play again.

So the evening was as follows:
16:00-18:00 - set up bits in room
18:00 shower and change
18:45 down stairs ready to meet and greet (and listen to the bands sound check)
19:00 onwards meet the great and good.
19:30 set up for big boss speech, champagne for everyone, and I was allowed to used buttons on the bands sound desk!! (only to turn the back ground music off and on)
Handed out 20 hampers and then 150 mugs
20:00 Food was served
21:00 The band made me announce them, did that thing you see everyone else do and jumped as I spoke in to the mike, doh!
21:45 DJ set, more food out
22:30 Band second set
23:30 Band end, the DJ took over but I had to ask him to have one last number then call it a night so catering could start setting room up for breakfast. This didn't go down well with the crowd, starting shouting at the band but I told them I was the big bad guy and to have a go at me instead, that shut them up, felt just like being a mum again.
00:15 guests have left so Geoff and I sat down while the band were packing up with a nice cup of tea in our new mugs
01:15 heard particpants going past the bedroom window on their way back to their rooms
06:45 Alarm went off!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.