the old ones are the best

Catching up with some movies this week.

They used to be an obsession in the 1970s, 80s, even some of the 90s. Visiting cinemas all over the Greater Manchester area twice sometimes even three films a week ( double bills were often worth seeing with some big suprises ). Many of those cinemas are gone and long forgotten. I can remember the films and the cinemas I saw them in.

I used to write film reviews , never published and unfortunately lost during a house move I wish I still had them. I even managed to get to some previews and press shows by luck or who I knew. I most notably remember watching the press show of All the Presidents Men in ABC Deansgate with the late Tony Wilson ( of Granada TV , Factory records etc.) in the row in front. I would stay up late and watch more even if I had been to the cinema.

Since then I have hardly ever been to any cinema or watched many modern films on TV. There are many reasons for this - family preferences primarily but also I lost the interest in watching on my own just for the sake of it.

James Bond Skyfall last night - it was OK

This is tonight's presentation. Now that's more like it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.