Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Kidney Smart

I went to a Kidney Smart class at a Davita dialysis center. This giant mural was on one of the walls. In fact, it was a wrap-around on three walls but I couldn't get that all into the shot.

I went to learn or refresh myself on all things related to kidney disease because I have it. I'm low stage three, with a GFR hovering around 31-34. (That's the percentage my kidneys are functioning.) So I'm, close to the next Stage (29).

When you get to 15, you go on dialysis, so I learned all of the different dialysis modes. As the mural suggests, they seem to be filled with a family feeling at that clinic. I hope that if (and when) I am ready for dialysis that I find such a place to embrace me as family to give me the support I will need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.