l u c k y . 1 3

By erincamilleee

The Difference Between 475 and 375

Each day I distance myself from your warm embrace a little bit more and more. Your blanket of suffocating warmth has been pealed off, tossed aside on the floor carelessly. I walk passed it and no longer crave the heat. I've come to the realization that it's just holding me back.

I love the cold, the chilly nights, the nippy air. It's everything I ever dreamed of. It opens my mind, makes my brain race, and leaves me with a shiver of delight. It's the first time I've felt anything in my entire existence.

I didn't realize you were holding me back until I pulled myself away for a moment. It was an accident, but sometimes accidents are what make life worthwhile. I can remember all the nights I held you tight to me, telling you never to leave me -- I'll need you until the day I die. But I was naive. I had no idea what was outside your walls of coziness.

I stroll through the park in these freezing nights and wonder how I could ever be content with the warmth, it's unbearable now.

The wind has swept me off my feet. And it feels so good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.