'Eyes Like Stars'

By ZombieButterfly

Little one

I woke up at about half six and, without my glasses on, noticed a dark blob in Cali's viv along the mesh that was silhouetted against the night light in there.

I got up and put my glasses on and peered in and my jaw just dropped. There was a little baby crestie in there.

Cali and Donnie have been separated for a few months now (to rest them both and to let Cali fully rest after her illness, her calcium levels need to be high and egg laying obviously lowers them) and although we've found a few eggs buried (they store the eggs for a few months) in that time, two are being incubated, we didn't think any would be fertilised or healthy enough.

Nick doesn't like being awake early but I wouldn't have been able to get to the viv without waking him so the choice was made... He loves the newly hatched geckos anyway so once he was over the shock he got to work on helping the hatchling out of the viv and got a set up ready in a spare faunarium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.