Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

The Timex Dog

Today, as I was taking a few photos of my pups, I realized that I had not blipped Iggins by himself.

This is Iggins. Actually his name is 'Enry 'Iggins (from the movie My Fair Lady). Iggins is 13 years old - which is fairly old for a Cavalier. But he is truly our "Timex" dog. Years ago, the Timex watch advertisements used the express the durability of the watch with "the Timex watch . . . takes a licking, but keeps on ticking". Iggins is a lot like that. He has had congestive heart failure for about 5 years, which is treated with medication. He also has an intermittent neurologic disorder where he will just collapse for up to a minute. Then, he gets up and acts as though nothing happened. And, he's had cancer which he fully recovered from, except that his fur on his back is very thin. Because of his age, he has cataracts which you can tell in the photograph. He is also beginning to lose his hearing and has a few special needs, but he is otherwise a happy, healthy dog.

Iggins has a zest for life that is undeniable. He is a very happy dog, and very loving. He loves to play "hide and seek" with me, and "tug-a-war" with the girls. His favorite thing is to chase squirrels and birds, and his favorite toy is a stuffed squirrel. Even as an old dog, he never tires of "training" - he considers it just another form of play. Yet, he is the ever watchful guard dog.

Iggins was raised by our first Cavalier, Chester. We lost Chester in 2007, but he lives on in Iggins. And just like Chester, Iggins is my boy. He loves J but favors me. His very favorite place to sleep is next to me with his head on my shoulder.

If I were to choose one word which describes Iggins, it would be FAITHFUL. He has taught me a great deal about characteristics of faithfulness - both the obvious and the subtle. We have been truly blessed to have him in our lives.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.