LL Cool Jim

By LLCoolJim

Hostapil

The wee brave man popped his "injury" cherry last night. It was like when young Henry in Goodfellas didn't rat on his friends at court. It'll be his first tattoo next. He's had a few bumps n' scrapes already but this was a full on egg with gaping wound. The doctor at the Sick Kids was great. She did say "There is likely to be a scar but it'll be on the brow and boys don't seem to mind as much as girls about the scarring"......Oh what....Comparing scars is a teenage boy's idea of fun with his pals. He takes pride in describing how it happened and how the blood poured (there was actually very little). A good pick at the scab guarantees a deeper scar too.

I'm gonna relay the sequence of events from just after the accident when his head hit the bench in the front garden after a trip. I can't bring myself to go through it all but will -

The accident happened at 18.55 >NHS24 calls (hopeless)- "Yes Mrs McL but is there much blood?....No, ok, has he been sick?, no ok - he'll be fine"> then Dad (watching Scotland match) arrives home to the gaping wound > traffic (taxis WITH fares go ten times slower than without - why is that I wonder?) > just full FREE parking for A&E as I arrive, so over to car park that charges (Free for 20 minutes - we were 22 minutes cos of.....read on.....) > then..selfish reception staff - she gets a break on the hour - she's off a minute to ignoring tired wee kid at what is now 20.55 > jobsworths annoy me at this point too > grumpy, racist, intolerant, ignorant reception staff> - reception staff stared at us for 15 minutes in queue behind in-shock travelling SouthEast Asian car crash victims ("WHERE....... DO......... YOU........ LIVE?" she bellowed patronisingly at them) before telling me after all the hassle with them and others "You'll need tae go tae the Sick Kids - wait there" - 5 more minutes - "doctor can you look at this kid" "oh yes that'll need a glue stitching at the Sick Kids" - even though reception bitch had just taken all the details of a kid with a bust foot 5 minutes earlier - So now, 22 minutes later, after paying my no-longer-free car park charge, I'm off to the sick kids - the only reason I went to the ERI rather than the Western was cos every time I go to the Western and wait ages they tell me to go to the ERI so I cut out the middle hospital and went straight there> after condescending dumass coppers (dealing with poor car crash victims) give their ridiculously bad directions (I knew where I was going near enough anyway thankfully) we're at the Sick Kids > Old Mother Hubbard was getting her "computer - training".....After 15 minutes with the 3 in front (booking their next fuckin visits) it's the turn of the laddy with the big cut on his coupon "So, Jacob, That's J.....click....A....click....c.....click...." oh for fuck's sake> There was only one kid to be seen before mine, cool> another 4 or 5 come in with, believe me, fuck all wrong with them and they all get dealt with 1st!!>finally we see the doctor, she's great and so is her 2nd opinion Doc> he squirms as they clean and stich it but doesn't cry the whole time - brave lad, that's my boy .................home for 23.35 - ALMOST 5 HOURS LATER - Believe it or not I kept a calm exterior

Same sort of thing happened to my brother and his chick recently.

The Doctors in the NHS are amazing - see everything/body else?... - don't get me started (too late).....

It's basic managing of the human resource that fails miserably.

To think that as I drove into the ERI earlier on and looked at the magnificent building I thought how lucky we are in this pocket of the world (We ARE very lucky of course, just unnecessarily.....and I mean that, ....unnecessarily inconvenienced by stoopid, stoopid fuckwits).




....and the football was on!



Ahhhhhhhhhh - that's better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.