Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

An ordinary day...

So its a typical Monday on a cold and dreary November day. Too soon to get excited about Christmas and going into work after a weekend off to face a long week of work. Daily chores still have to be done. Washing clothes, tidying, sorting the post. What to have for dinner? Having to dash home from work to check the dog has been walked, and having to sympathise with a sickly daughter whose taken the day off from work. Making her a cup of tea and giving her the last two bourbon biscuits. Dashing off to Step class in the freezing cold, but just wanting to curl up in front of the TV. Back home hot and sweaty for a quick shower before supper of sausage and mash. An evening in front of the TV feeling guilty about all the stuff I need to do, and thinking about doing it all again tomorrow.

Or could today be about waking up after a lovely nights sleep. Its cold, but the heating is on and we're all cosy and snug in our lovely home. Its too early for the dog to be up but he wags his tail in greeting when I go into the kitchen. I give him a kiss and a cuddle and relish his snuggly homey warm smell and his unselfish devotion. I get a parking place right outside the office and someone has put the heating on so the room is nice and warm. I'm lucky to do a job I love and I think I am quite good at, and I spend the morning helping patients through their difficult day. My work buddies are a great bunch and we have a wonderful time together with many chances to laugh through the day. They're wonderfully supportive and boost me every day. I go home to my gorgoeus daughter who is so pleased to see me and we have a comforting cup of tea together, catching up with our day and having a general gossip. At Step class I have great friends and we have such a laugh over the complicated choreography. I'm lucky to have my health to be able to do such demanding exercise. I come out feeling hot and sweaty but invigorated. Mr O is home and cooking a lovely sausage and mash tea (requested by Miss O) while I have a shower. I can snuggle up in my PJs as he has promised to walk the dog tonight. Dinner is washed down with a welcome glass of wine and afterwards Miss O. and I settle down to watch our favourite Coronation street .

An ordinary day? No - an extraordinary day. I am truely blessed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.