Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

Downtown Auckland, NZ...

My father's family of parents, sister and three brothers migrated to Australia in 1922 from Aberdeen, Scotland. This photo...intersection of Customs Street East and Queen Street, Auckland...was taken by one of my uncles on holiday from Australia (c. 1950?)

I searched for the history of trams in Auckland seeing tram tracks and discover that the waterfront tram is being revived this year using trams bought from Melbourne. What an incentive that is to visit Auckland again. I can hardly wait. The location of the photograph is a short distance from the waterfront.

Electric tramways ran 24 November 1902 until 29 December 1956 (cf: tundria dot com).

Photo of tram and the advertising sign on the Winstone Ltd building. Winstone Ltd was sold to Fletcher Brierly Ltd in 1988 cf: Winstone Ltd History Timeline

In 2009 I photographed the Dilworth building here that is the building to the LHS of my uncle's photograph. Wikipedia Dilworth building.

When I was photographing Auckland in 2009, I hadn't known of photos taken by my father's brother round and about the streets of Auckland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.