A Chilli

It was a yucky, cold day and it rained almost constantly, not heavily, but enough to put me off going outside so I made some soup. Looking around the interweb most ale soup recipes I found were for ale and cheddar soup, I wasn't convinced that this would work but I decided to give it a go as I needed to use up my carrots and celery before they went off (two of the main ingredients in most of the recipes, along with onion and ale of course). I used some of my Eden Brewery "Shipwreck IPA"...

It has to be the most disgusting soup I have ever had! I DID make two mistakes which may have contributed, the first was I left it simmering for too long and most of the beer evaporated, luckily I checked it before it went completely dry and burnt all the veggies I spent ages chopping, but the damage may have been done, I added water, crushed garlic and a couple chillies (as seen above). All the recipes I read said to use cheddar, me being me, I decided to mix it up a bit and as well as cheddar I added a small(ish) amount of Stilton (I like a good creamy Stilton on crackers), this may have been my second mistake. The end result was really bad, very bitter and the Stilton definitely over shadowed the cheddar (and pretty much everything else), it was not pleasant and a waste of some quality beer :,-( I doubt I can save the remainder of the soup and may have to pour it out, it really was that bad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.