Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Jackie Kay

The place to be in Liverpool tonight was at the Bluecoat's monthly Poetry Café for a reading by one of my favourite writers - award winning poet, short story writer, novelist, playwright and so much more - the talented and very engaging Jackie Kay.

It was the 5th time I'd heard her read and, as ever, it was way more than 'just' a reading. Jackie is a natural performer with one of the best smiles ever, a mischievous twinkle in her eye and an ability to get to the heart of any emotion concisely and compassionately, always writing beautifully but never 'showing off'. I can't recommend her highly enough! Do check out this clip of her reading! Or this one if you have a bit more time...

My book club met on Tuesday evening to discuss her most recent book of short stories, Reality, Reality and I was chuffed to get my copy signed after the reading and to have a brief chat about it with Jackie, who was also a good sport about posing for this picture.

Spokes and her colleague Mandy ran a bookstall and virtually sold out of the Kay back catalogue so it was a good night all round!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.