Doingok

By Doingok

Crotched Mountain

It was another cold clear blue sky day today. This is the view of Crotched Mountain from Cemetery Hill Road. Crotched is a small ski mountain about 15 miles from my house. At the base of the mountain there is a residential rehabilitation facility for people with head injuries.

As I was taking this picture an older man was just leaving his home, that overlooks this view, to take his dog for a walk. We chatted for about 30 minutes about all kinds of things. What an interesting chap he was and even though he was 20 years older than I we had so many parallels. I wanted to take his picture but his dog was large (108 lbs) and very protective. Fortunately he was on a leash. So our conversation was had from about 30' away from each other! We spoke of college, he was an animal science major and I a plant science major, hometowns (he was familiar with mine), had friends there, religion, not much, careers, health hazards posed by big corporations like Monsanto, etc. He was looking for a running buddy. I probably could keep up with him too, but I am not a runner. Maybe I'll have to propose walking to him. He says he usually wins races in his age group, but then often he is the only runner in that group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.