Eastern Spinebill (Acanthorhynchus tenuirostris)

We both have a long standing love affair with Australian native plants. When Paladian suggested a visit to the Belair National Park's State Native Plant Nursery this afternoon, I could not pack my camera bag fast enough!

Although I took a long zoom lens in case I had to fall back on a bird shot in the park, I was planning on getting a wide angle shot of the nursery for blip. It is a unique place and not the run of the mill looking nursery our northern hemisphere friends would ever see. So I used my regular mid-zoom lens and left the long zoom in the car!

The only problem was, I made the wrong choice of lenses! As I walked up the path to the nursery, there in front of me in a bush of kangaroo paw was an Eastern Spinebill, jumping all over the flowers, taking no notice of me. Normally I would never expect to get so close. That was the end of the wide angle nursery shot and here is another bird shot instead!

OK in LARGE but wish I had used a longer lens!

The Eastern Spinebill is most easily recognised by its very long, fine, down-curved beak and energetic flight, during which its white outer tail feathers are prominent.

Males have a grey-black crown which extends in a black line on either site of the breast. The breast and throat are white, with a patch in the centre of the throat. The wings and lower back are dark grey and the underparts and upper back are buff.

The Eastern Spinebill is a honeyeater and feeds on insects and nectar while perched or while hovering. Nectar is obtained from a wide array of flowers, including grevilleas, kangaroo paw etc, but its beak is particularly well-suited to extracting nectar from tubular flowers.

(For our own garden diary, plants purchased today at the Nursery: Kangaroo paw "The Wiz - Red Green", Kangaroo Paw Bush Pearl, Kangaroo Paw Anigozanthos Bright Orange, Kangaroo Paw Anigozanthos Ramboramp "Rampaging Roy Slaven" and Native Bluebells Wahlenberg stricta.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.